Wednesday, May 17, 2023

Rhino Records Unveils Exclusive Collection of Otis Redding's Posthumous Albums

Courtesy Rhino Records
Otis Redding, widely known as the King of Soul, continues to captivate fans even more than five decades after his tragic death in a plane crash at the age of 26. To honor his profound musical contributions, Rhino Records is set to unveil a special vinyl boxed set featuring all four of Redding's posthumous albums.

The company is releasing "Otis Forever: The Albums & Singles (1968-1970)," a vinyl boxed set that brings together Redding's four posthumous studio albums. The collection includes 24 singles in their original mono versions.

Limited to just 1,000 copies, the 6-LP set will be available on June 9. Each album is pressed on a different colored vinyl: "The Dock of the Bay" in yellow, "The Immortal Otis Redding" in silver, "Love Man" in green, "Tell the Truth" in blue and "The Singles 1968-1970" in yellow. A retail exclusive edition in classic black vinyl will also be offered.

The highlight of the collection is "The Singles 1968-1970," an exclusive double album housed in a gatefold sleeve adorned with the original 7" labels from all 24 singles. This release showcases Redding's timeless hits, including fan favorites like "The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)" and "Hard To Handle."

During his career from 1962 to 1967, Redding recorded prolifically at Stax Records alongside his bandmates, Booker T. & The MG's. His exceptional talent and chart-topping R&B and Top 40 hits, such as "These Arms Of Mine," "Respect" and "Try A Little Tenderness," helped elevate Stax Records to global recognition.

Following Redding's tragic demise, his posthumous albums ensured his music remained in the spotlight. "The Dock of the Bay" (1968), "The Immortal Otis Redding" (1968), "Love Man" (1969) and "Tell the Truth" (1970) featured Redding's powerful vocals and memorable songwriting, spawning hits like "Look At That Girl," "Love Man," "I've Got Dreams To Remember" and "Amen."

"Otis Forever: The Albums & Singles (1968-1970)" opens with the iconic album "The Dock of the Bay," which soared to number one on both the U.S. and U.K. charts. The title track, released shortly after Redding's passing, made history as the first posthumous song to top the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Over the years, this timeless anthem has sold over four million copies worldwide and secured its place at number 38 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

Redding's significant contributions and influence have been widely acknowledged. He has been inducted into prestigious halls of fame, including the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame, the Songwriters Hall of Fame, and the Georgia Music Hall of Fame. 

In 1999, Redding was honored with a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, three of his timeless tracks, "Respect," "I've Been Loving You Too Long" and "Try A Little Tenderness," have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

The set is available for pre-order, priced at $149.98 for the multi-color vinyl edition and $124.98 for the black vinyl edition here.

Vinyl Track Listing

The Dock of the Bay (1968)
Side One
1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”
2. “I Love You More Than Words Can Say”
3. “Let Me Come On Home”
4. “Open The Door”
5. “Don’t Mess With Cupid”

Side Two
1. “The Glory Of Love”
2. “I’m Coming Home”
3. “Tramp” – Otis Redding & Carla Thomas
4. “The Huckle-Buck”
5. “Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out)”
6. “Ole Man Trouble”

The Immortal Otis Redding (1968)
Side One
1. “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
2. “You Made A Man Out Of Me”
3. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
4. “Hard To Handle”
5. “Thousand Miles Away”
6. “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum-De-De-De-Dum-Dum)”

Side Two
1. “Think About It”
2. “A Waste Of Time”
3. “Champagne And Wine”
4. “Fool For You”
5. “Amen”

Love Man (1969)
Side One
1. “I’m A Changed Man”
2. “(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher”
3. “That’s A Good Idea”
4. “I’ll Let Nothing Separate Us”
5. “Direct Me”
6. “Love Man”

Side Two
1. “Groovin’ Time”
2. “Your Feeling Is Mine”
3. “Got To Get Myself Together”
4. “Free Me”
5. “A Lover’s Question”
6. “Look At That Girl”

Tell The Truth (1970)
Side One
1. “Demonstration”
2. “Tell The Truth”
3. “Out Of Sight”
4. “Give Away None Of My Love”
5. “Wholesale Love”
6. “I Got The Will”

Side Two
1. “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
2. “Snatch A Little Piece”
3. “Slippin’ And Slidin’”
4. “The Match Game”
5. “A Little Time”
6. “Swingin’ On A String”

The Singles: 1968-1970
Side One
1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”
2. “Sweet Lorene”
3. “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)”
4. “Open The Door”
5. “Hard To Handle”
6. “Amen”

Side Two
1. “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
2. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
3. “White Christmas”
4. “Merry Christmas, Baby”
5. “Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag”
6. “Direct Me”

Side Three
1. “A Lover’s Question”
2. “You Made A Man Out Of Me”
3. “Love Man”
4. “Can’t Turn You Loose”
5. “Free Me”
6. “(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher & Higher”

Side Four
1. “Look At That Girl”
2. “That’s A Good Idea”
3. “Demonstration”
4. “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
5. “Give Away None Of My Love”
6. “Snatch A Little Piece”
"Snatch A Little Piece"

No comments:

Post a Comment